Rock Paper Killers

Rock Paper Killers

By Alexia Mason

What it’s about?

The blurb:

The brand-new addictive thriller that fans of Karen M. McManus and Holly Jackson will be DYING to read.

The ROCK she fell from . . .

The PAPER she clutched . . .

The KILLERS she thought were friends . . .

When five Dublin teenagers arrive at a rural coastal college to cram for their final exams, their most pressing concern is the prospect of a month with no partying.

Little do they know that one of them will never make it back home . . .

A page-turning and gripping thriller with a shocking twist, Rock Paper Killers is perfect for fans of Riverdale, One of Us is Lying and We Were Liars.

What I think:

I love YA thrillers – generally they are well plotted and fast paced do this sounded right up my reading alley.

Sadly this did not live up to my expectations.

For a lot of the book nothing really happens. The teenagers are studying for their Irish exams at an intense summer school. The building is suitably creepy and has classic thriller potential but nothing comes of the strange noises and old asylum history.

The characters are such a mixed bunch. They don’t really seem to like each other or have a lot in common other than a shared past. They bicker and snipe at each throughout the book. Kelly in particular is just vile. Her hatred for Réiltín is never fully explained.

And that was my whole problem with the book. The back stories of the characters all seem complicated but I didn’t feel like I got to know enough about them to really care what happens.

When there was finally some real intrigue I had to read it twice to work out exactly what had happened.

This one just wasn’t for me – I didn’t like the writing style and didn’t care enough about any of the characters to really care who didn’t make it and why. Loads of positive reviews though so check it out and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s