Blog Tour – Death Remembered

Death Remembered

By K. E. Coburn

What it’s about?

Summer 1952.


The sun is shining, the birds are singing, but Charity Nicholls is bored of her quiet life in a tiny English
village where nothing ever happens.

Other than her nagging, marriage-obsessed mother, all she has
to fill the time are her dreams of becoming a writer, and the Sleuthing Club – the mystery-reading
book club she attends every week.


But everything changes the day her father receives a poison pen letter.
With the help of the Sleuthing Club, particularly handsome Henry Taylor, Charity is determined to find the culprit. But when people start dying and the police arrive, led by the infuriating Inspector James Lawrence, her little village becomes a hotbed of crime.


Can Charity find the murderer before anyone else dies?


Perfect for fans of Helena Dixon and T E Kinsey

What I think:

I love a cosy mystery and read a lot of American books so it is great to find a fabulous new cosy mystery series set in 1950s England.

Charity is a great character. Torn between supporting her parents with parish business, her father is the local vicar, and heading to the city to become an independent woman, she is confident and smart. She’s also very bored. So when a poison pen letter is sent to her father she decides to use her Sleuthing Club knowledge to solve the mystery.

But Charity soon discovers more of the villagers have received letters and her prime suspect dies things begin to take a more sinister turn.

There is a great cast of characters in this book. The Sleuthing Club members meet each week to read and discuss crime fiction, favourite writers and best detectives. When crime lands they are in their element.

There’s also lots of fantastic post-war period detail. Charity’s fashion experiments, rationing and village life where everyone know everybody’s business add to the atmosphere.

This is a great start to the series. I absolutely had no idea who had committed the various crimes. I really liked Charity’s developing relationship with Inspector Lawrence and can’t wait to see how that develops further.

If you fancy reading Death Remembered you an use the links below:


UK: click here
US: click here

About the author:

K E Coburn lives by the seaside in Kent, England, and spends her time plotting murders and mayhem for her imaginary friends in the Sleuthing Club!


As well as having a master’s degree in history, she’s a huge fan of everything vintage, especially the 1950s, and loves researching this interesting period. Nothing makes her happier than looking at old photographs, drinking old-fashioned cocktails, and doing as little work as possible.


Her debut novel Death Remembered: A Sleuthing Club Mystery (Book 1) will be published in July 2020.


If you fancy keeping up to date with her murderous plots you can find her on Twitter at @KeCoburn

Or at her website http://kecoburn.com/

Facebook: click here

Thank you K. E. Coburn and Rachel from Rachel’s Randon Resources for inviting me to be part of this fantastic blog tour. Check out the other stops on the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s