The Book Share

The Book Share

By Phaedra Patrick

What it’s about?

From Goodreads:

It’s never too late to start a new chapter…
The utterly charming and feel-good new novel from the bestselling author of The Secrets of Sunshine and The Library of Lost and Found.

Liv Green loves losing herself in a good book. Her everyday reality is less romantic, cleaning houses for people who barely give her the time of day. But when she lands a job housekeeping for her personal hero and mega-bestselling author Essie Starling, she can’t believe her luck.

When Essie dies unexpectedly, Liv is left with an astonishing last wish: to complete Essie’s last ever novel. To do so, change-averse Liv will have to step away from the fictitious worlds in her head, and into Essie’s shoes. As she begins to write, she uncovers a surprising connection between the two women – and a secret that will change Liv’s life forever…

Heart-warming and uplifting, the new book from the author of The Library of Lost and Found is a reminder of how it’s never too late to change your own story – perfect for fans of All the Lonely People and The Authenticity Project.

What I think:

I loved this book and absolutely raced through it!

Liv is such a relatable character. She’s an expert cleaner and housekeeper and juggles multiple cleaning jobs. One of them is with Essie Starling, a world famous novelist who writes the Georgia Rory series. Liv has loved Georgia Rory since she was a teenager. she has read the whole series and often returns to them when she is sad or needs comfort. Working for Essie is a dream come true.

Essie is aloof and mysterious. she’s rarely been seen in public in recent years and her books, while still popular, have lost a bit of sparkle. She realises that Liv may have more to offer than just cleaning her apartment.

When Essie dies Liv is given an extraordinary mission. Essie requests that her death is not revealed until a set date, and the Liv is the one to complete her latest book, the last in the Georgia Rory series. Georgia is expected to find lasting love and the fans are desperate to find out who she chooses after years of adventures.

Liv has to juggle her family and marriage with writing the rest of the novel. She also wants to find out more about Essie. Who was the love of Essie’s life? Why did she withdraw from public life? An d why has she chosen Liv to complete her legacy.

This is a real journey of self-discovery as well as a mystery. I loved how Liv’s character developed. She has always been content as a wife and mother, but it is now time for her to rediscover her own dreams and work out who she is now that her sons have flown the nest.

This was such a good read. Thank you to Netgalley for a gifted advanced copy. I really enjoyed Liv and Essie’s characters and there was lots to keep me guessing along the way

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s