Blog Tour: Season of Second Chances

Season of Second Chances

By Aimee Alexander

What it’s about?

When leaving is just the beginning… The long-awaited novel of family, love and learning to be kind to yourself by award-winning, bestselling Irish author, Aimee Alexander.

Grace Sullivan flees Dublin with her two teenage children, returning to the sleepy West Cork village where she grew up. No one in Killrowan knows what Grace is running from – or even that she’s running. She’d like to keep it that way.

Taking over from her father, Des, as the village doctor offers a very real chance for Grace to begin again. But will she and the children adapt to life in a small rural community? Can she live up to the doctor that her father was? And will she find the inner strength to face the past when it comes calling?

Season of Second Chances is Grace’s story. It’s also the story of a community that chooses the title “Young Doctor Sullivan” for her before she even arrives. It’s the story of Des who served the villagers all his life and now feels a failure for developing Parkinson’s disease. And it’s the story of struggling teens, an intimidating receptionist, a handsome American novelist escaping his past, and a dog called Benji who needs a fresh start of his own.

Season of Second Chances is a heart-warming story of friendship, love and finding the inner strength to face a future that may bring back the past.

Perfect for fans of Call The Midwife, Virgin River, Doc Martin, The Durrells and All Creatures Great and Small. The villagers of Killrowan will steal into your heart and make you want to stay with them forever.

What I think:

I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

Grace and her children leave Dublin with court order barring her husband from contacting them and whatever they can for in the back of a Jeep. They head to Killrowan, a village in West Cork and seek refuge with her father, Des.

The character’s in this book are so complex. They are loving and resilient, but angry and grieving.

Grace has kept the truth if her marriage a secret and only share the details with her father when her hand is forced. From that moment on though Des is her absolute ally.

Jack and Holly blossom in Killrowan. As they slowly emerge from the shadow of their father’s control and violence they make friends and a place in their new community.

Community is also such a huge part of this book. Everyone knows each other’s business and the doctor’s and church are at the heart of the village. Despite this, many of villagers keep secrets hidden from prying eyes. And there is full cast of supporting characters.

The ending of this book is really satisfying. I loved life in Killrowan and really hope that Aimee Alexander returns there in the future as there are more stories to told.

This is a heartwarming book full of hope. It’s what the world needs right now.

Read Season of Second Chances yourself, order from the link below:

Amazon: click here

About the author:

Aimee Alexander is the pen name of best selling author Denise Deegan who writes contemporary family dramas about ordinary people who become extraordinary in crisis. Her novels have been published by Penguin, Random House and Hachette.

Aimee lives in Dublin with her family where she regularly dreams of sunshine, a life without cooking and her novels being made into movies. She has a Masters in Public Relations and has been a college lecturer, nurse, china restorer, pharmaceutical sales rep, public relations executive and entrepreneur.

Twitter @aimeealexbooks

Thank you Anne Cater for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour. And Aimee Alexander for the gorgeous signed copy of the book.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s